Wednesday, February 12, 2003


It’s late and I can’t sleep so I figured I would drop a note here to get myself caught up. I had some very good workouts this pass week and also been busy working and trying to get my training into a flow.

So far I have a good pattern going but I need to get it down so I can figure out where I want to be in the future. What races I want to participate in between now and the Ironman.

Bah screw the morbid thoughts lets get on to the good stuff!! I got a used set of rollers for my bike from Play it again sports, for $50. They were missing one front leg but everything else looked great. I used a washing machine leg for the missing piece and it works awesome!! Talk about saving some cash! These rollers go for about 200+ my lucky day.

My friend Jed said I was crazy and he may be right but I really do have a budget to try and stick to and couldn’t justify the 200 for a trainer.

My first trip on the rollers was interesting to say the least. I had to go to Lowe’s and get 2 1x6 boards to set the roller on so it wouldn’t sink into my carpet. Then I set the whole thing up in the doorway to my den (thanks Jed!!) and started rolling!! Needless to say I kept bumping against the doorjamb until I figured out the faster you went the easier it got to stay centered. (my arm still hurts from banging on the doorjamb!!)

I have put 4 more trips on the rollers since then and one was for an hour. Only downfall so far has been to stop to drink (haven’t been able to keep my balance while drinking yet hehe)

The next purchase I need to make is to replace my polar s710i watch I lost at the Disney marathon!! I miss that watch so much, I especially miss all the info I lost of the marathon! I can never get that back. I am stalking the eBay boards looking for an s710i or s720i to replace it with.

I received my first real bike jersey yesterday and I must say I look rather good in it while on my bike! Soon I will have some aerobars (when I find a set I like) and new pedals with shoes.

My swimming is improving really fast. More then likely because it sucked so much to start with it had no where to go but up!! I can actually swim a solid 200 yards now without stopping or dying! I find it getting more natural to breath while swimming and not lunging forward on each breath stroke. That really tired me out lifting myself out of the water on every breath.

I am trying to get in contact with someone at the university that can help me with my swim but with my work schedule it is making it very hard. I only have Tuesday and Sunday to get with someone and really need to get focused on this soon before I get my bad habits imbedded to deep. This is the only benefit I see for being new to swimming; I have no bad habits ingrained yet!

Also posted a huge picture of my bike, I am going to try and get it a little smaller didn’t realize how big the image was hehe.


Tuesday, February 11, 2003